11
Apr
11

A short cartoon script

Ren and StimpyI’ve always thought that it would be amazing to write for a cartoon show. As a kid, I used to watch a copious amount of cartoons… and it always caught my eye when the “Written by” tag rolled past in the closing credits. Beneath all of those bright colours and the *whizz* *bang* sound effects was a self-contained story that somebody had actually thought about, sat down and written. Cartoons can be such a visual and transient form of entertainment that it’s easy to overlook the role of the writer.

But the better the writing is, the less transient the cartoon becomes. This is never more evident than in the various ‘adult’ cartoons that rose to popularity in the 1990s. The most obvious examples are The Simpsons and South Park, but let’s not forget the likes of Ren & Stimpy, Duckman, Rocko’s Modern Life and The Tick. Because these shows were intentionally written for an older audience, their unique style of storytelling and quotable dialogue has given them lots of cultural mileage.

A few years back, I wrote a short cartoon script with an adult audience in mind. It’s not rude or crude in that sense, but it does deal with an angst-ridden theme that’s more suitable for adults. I called it “What’s Eating Barry Pratkins?” and you can check it out here: What’s Eating Barry Pratkins_Script

I wrote this script before I knew any proper screenwriting conventions, so you’ll have to excuse the lack of correct formatting! All comments are welcome.

2 Responses to “A short cartoon script”


  1. 06/03/2013 at 8:54 am

    You actually make it appear really easy along with your presentation but I find this topic to be really one thing that I think I would never understand.
    It kind of feels too complex and very huge
    for me. I’m looking forward in your next put up, I’ll try to
    get the cling of it!


Leave a Reply

