10
Dec
10

A spec script for Scooby Doo

Whenever I can, I try to write comic book scripts. I first started doing this in 2009 when I had a short story accepted by Insomnia, a small independent press that very briefly took the UK graphic novel scene by storm (and then went spectacularly bust).

The good thing about short comics, though – we’re talking 6 to 12 pages long – is that it’s normally quite easy to find them a new home, typically within a “new writing” anthology. The bad thing about comics in general, though, is that it’s notoriously difficult to find an artist who is a) good, b) available to work on your script, c) reliable enough to see the job through and d) willing to work for free. Most comic writers/artists in the UK generally do what they do because they love the medium and not because it delivers a paycheque. Very few people are actually paid to produce comics and this can cause problems when you want to secure an artist who’ll work for free but (to put it nicely) is “better than amateur”.

The solution to this problem? Exit the indie scene and target the mainstream, where those fabled few who earn a living from comics can be found. Large publishers like Panini UK have a pool of professional illustrators, from which they can choose artists to team up with writers. Panini, more specifically, encourage submissions from newbies… but they’ll only consider work based on their existing licensed characters e.g. Doctor Who, Spider-Man and Looney Tunes. I decided to write a 12-page spec script for Scooby Doo, having grown up with the cartoon franchise on TV. I put together a story called “The Centurion’s Curse” and sent it off to the editorial team.

Panini never got back to me on it, but I’m still proud of this script. I’d like to think that it might open the doorway to a commission in the future. Have a read if you’re a Scooby Doo fan or even if you’re just interested in seeing how a comic book script looks on the page.

The full story is here: Scooby-Doo_Spec Script_R Norris

All comments welcome!

16 Responses to “A spec script for Scooby Doo”


  1. 10/05/2011 at 9:02 pm

    i like it. the tone feels just like what i remember from watching the show every afternoon after school.

    nice.

  2. 11/05/2011 at 9:33 am

    Thanks Rob – that’s the tone I was trying to recapture 🙂

  3. 3 seb
    17/11/2011 at 12:16 pm

    amazing rob, thanks mate 🙂

  4. 4 MD
    11/04/2012 at 9:10 am

    Just a clean up point – the latin inscription should read ‘cave fure’, ‘cave latrone’, ‘cavite fures’, ‘cavite latrones’ or similar.

    ‘furtificus caveo’ means ‘I, a thievish individual, take heed’.

  5. 6 Julie
    05/06/2013 at 3:10 pm

    I teach theater classes at a small non-profit center. I have a summer camp coming up with 8 kids and I’m considering using this script for our short play. It’s the perfect length, and this would also have simple costuming and props – we don’t have much of a budget. I think this script would be perfect! I hope that would be OK with you? It’s very hard for me to find age appropriate material that’s decent, fun, and also short and not to overwhelming for my students. I also often have students with special needs in the class – and they would love a scooby doo play.

    • 05/06/2013 at 3:22 pm

      Hi Julie. Thanks for reading! I’d be more than happy to let you use my script. I’ll send you an email separately about this, so please keep an eye on your Gmail.

  6. 14/01/2014 at 8:32 pm

    The script is awesome! It has that old-timey Scooby Doo feel. I can just see it as a direct-to-video movie, like Scooby Doo! and the Witch’s Ghost or Scooby Doo! and the Samurai Sword. You should shop it around, see if you can get any offers. Bravo!

    • 14/01/2014 at 10:36 pm

      Hi Seb – thanks for reading! I’m glad you enjoyed it. FYI: I wouldn’t have the first clue who to shop it around to. I originally sent it off to Panini, who produce Scooby Doo in comic-book form. But they didn’t respond.

      • 14/01/2014 at 10:46 pm

        Hi Russell,

        You could try self-publishing it. I’m sure there’d be some artists out there willing to work with you on it. It’d be great as a web comic, and you wouldn’t need the rights unless you tried selling it.

  7. 11 Tyson Brown
    07/06/2014 at 6:42 am

    Hi Russel, I really like that script that you did, is it ok if I use it for my drama course I am doing, and the end of it it going to be on youtube. I will have your name on the script and on the youtube video too.

  8. 13 Sharon Murphy
    04/08/2014 at 3:02 pm

    Hi Russell, I am a teacher in Perth Western Australia and would love to use your script for a staff skit presented to the students. It is an ideal length, entertaining and importantly captures the characters true personalities. You would be acknowledged at the beginning of the performance as the author of this script. Kind regards, Sharon Murphy

    • 04/08/2014 at 10:04 pm

      Hi Sharon: sure thing, feel free to use the script. If you record or photograph the performance, would you be kind enough to share?

      • 15 Sharon Murphy
        05/08/2014 at 6:21 am

        Of course! I also looked on youtube to see if Tyson Brown (above) had added his drama version, but couldn’t locate it. Do you know if he ended up recording it?

      • 05/08/2014 at 9:16 am

        I have no idea if Tyson recorded it. People tend to ask for my permission to use the script… then I never hear back!


Leave a Reply

