01
Nov
10

King Cuckoo’s Flight School

This is the first play I ever wrote. I based it on an ancient Greek comedy by Aristophanes called “The Birds”.

It’s a slapstick farce aimed at kids and I originally hoped it would catch the eye of someone at The Polka Theatre (a famous children’s theatre in Wimbledon). But ultimately, it wasn’t their cup of tea. I think I was 22 when I hammered out this script… and looking back, I think I was drinking way too much coffee. Everything about it is hyperactive and every other sentence ends with an exclamation mark.

The basic premise is this: two chimpanzees, Dr Banana and Wally, want to become birds – so they disguise themselves with feathers and try to trick King Cuckoo into teaching them how to fly.

It ain’t perfect, by any stretch, but here it is… all 49 pages of it: King Cuckoo’s Flight School – Final Draft

0 Responses to “King Cuckoo’s Flight School”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

